Two Storm Clouds

If you know me, you know that I love to knit. And I knit in public. Often. (Is there a stronger way of saying that?)

After Liturgy every Sunday, our church has a coffee social. We drink coffee. We eat food. We socialize. And I knit. To some of the older folks in the parish, this is just about the coolest thing ever. And it has helped to endear me to two lovely older ladies, Helen and Mary. (This is NOT the only thing they like about me. But since they’re both knitters, it doesn’t hurt anything.)

Anyway, a few months back, I was sitting and knitting a purple shawl when Helen came over and commented on how lovely it was. After she walked away, I looked at my mom and said, “I’m making her something. A shawl, I think.”

Momsy thought this was a great idea and told me to make it purple. Purple is Helen’s color. (I approve of this since it is also mine.)

Then, I took it into my head to make a shawl for Mary as well. I don’t remember my reasoning behind this other than the fact that I wanted to do something to show these two lovely ladies that they are loved.

And then, I decided that I wanted to do this during Lent as an act of prayer (you know, one leg of prayer, fasting, and almsgiving.). I would make them shawls and pray for them-a sacrifice of time, energy, money, and love. So, I picked yarn-Malabrigo sock yarn, one of my absolute favorite yarns on earth-and a pattern-the fantastic Storm Cloud Shawlette pattern. I cast on the first one (Helen’s, in the Abril colorway) last Wednesday and had it done by Saturday afternoon. And then that evening, I started the second (Mary’s in the Impressionist sky) and had it done by the end of yesterday. I blocked them. And today, I took advantage  of the GORGEOUS weather to take the pictures of them in the backyard that are scattered throughout this post.

(Quick note: I finished Helen’s shawl on Saturday but I hated the bind-off job I’d done, so I tore the binding off this afternoon and redid it with a picot bind-off. I like that one much more. Mary’s shawl has always had a lovely picot bind-off. The picot is time-consuming but gorgeous. I endorse it.)

I really love this pattern and I’d like to use it again. And again. And again.

I hope that these shawls show these two ladies how much I love them and how much Christ loves them. I’ve spent quite a bit of time praying for them while knitting the shawls. And on Easter…or maybe earlier, I’ll deliver these. And I have a feeling that they’ll be well-loved and used often…as they ought to be.

The photo above is Mary’s shawl blocking. I’m showing this picture off because it shows (what I think is) a really awesome way to block handknits. I spread two towels on the floor on my bedroom floor and then pinned the shawl to the towels/carpet. It’s an amazing blocking mat. And no, I didn’t come up with this idea on my own; I stole it from Melynda of French Press Knits who blogged about it back in December.

I’m looking for a new Lenten knitting project now since all of the knitting I currently have on-needle (or am planning on casting on today) is selfish knitting. But I’m sure I’ll figure that one out soon.

And I need to go bask in that gorgeous sunshine. Maybe I’ll do some outdoor knitting and reading? I also need to make some more progress in my Lenten goal of reading Jesus of Nazareth before Easter.

Leave a Reply

