Five years later…

Five years ago, I was a junior in high school, sitting in my AP biology class when the physics teacher came skidding into the room. “My husband just called! There’s white smoke! There’s a new Pope.”
A few hours later, we crowded into the four largest rooms in the building to watch on CNN as Cardinal Jorge Medina Estévez told us “Habemus Papam!” And then he said it would be Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger-now Pope Benedict XVI.
I’ve seen this Pope at World Youth Day 2005 in Cologne, Germany and in the fall of 2008, I saw him in Rome. I love this man. Today, I went back and was watching the video of that announcement five years ago. I love my German Shepherd so so so much. He has had a very difficult five years-especially the past few months. But he is the successor to St. Peter, he is the Vicar of Christ. He was elected by the Cardinals, inspired by the grace of the Holy Spirit. “And I also say to you that you are Peter; and on this rock, I will build My church and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it. And I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven…” (Matthew 16:18-19).
He is a good and holy man. May God bless him abundantly on this his fifth anniversary and all the days of the rest of his life.

Leave a Reply

