I’ll Knit Anywhere

My birthday present from the parents this year was a trip with la madre to Stratford, Ontario (that’s in Canada) to see two plays. We went up on Saturday and came back on Sunday. While there, we saw The Winter’s Tale and The Tempest. Both were good but The Tempest was better. Simply put, it was because Christopher Plummer (you know, Captain Von Trapp from The Sound of Music) played Prospero. Plummer is now 80 but he still has it. He still has the magic that wins over audiences. He was powerful and delightful. And afterward, he received a five-minute standing ovation from the audience.

But it wasn’t just the plays that were good. The city as a whole was just fabulous. Stratford has TWO tea stores and that (for me) is just delightful. I love looking at tea pots and tea cups and smelling tea. It was great.

My mother also got to realize how true it is that I will knit anywhere. (I won’t knit at work though, if you’re wondering.) But I knitted during the intermissions of both plays and while sitting on a bench by the Avon river with la madre before we went to see The Tempest.  The funny thing (to me) about knitting in public is that people will always come up to me and talk to me about my knitting. Often it’s just an older woman expressing joy to see a younger person knitting. But other times it’s actual questions about what I’m making and how long I’ve been knitting. (Most of these people are fellow knitters who enjoy seeing a fellow knitter in action.) Saturday night, I was working on the second sock of my first pair of socks during the intermission when a woman came up to me and started asking me about knitting. I told her that these were my first socks but this is the second one and I am *almost* done with it. She told me that she had started making socks the summer before and had since made nine pairs of socks. And she told me that once you get started with hand-knit socks, you’ll never go back. Well, we’ll have to wait and see about that! In the mean time, I have a pair of socks that I need to finish.

Leave a Reply

