A “Leavely” Post

That is a bad pun. I know.

But lately, my knitting has had a leaf-motif. Today, I finished the winter hat that I was making for little G. The pattern is called “Sweet Leaf Toddler Hat.” And when you look at the picture below, you’ll know. It has a pattern that looks like leaves climbing on it.

I think it’s pretty darling and I hope that she’ll think so too. Or at least, her mother will. And as long as they’re happy, I’m happy.

I’ve also been working on a sweater called “Starksy.” Yes, Starsky-as in “and Hutch,” that Starsky. I’m only working on the back piece so far and it probably won’t be done until November. But it’s coming along! And it has a pattern of knitting, purling, and cabling that creates what is called a “banana tree pattern” through the knitting. It’s gorgeous. See below:

I’m just getting going on this, but I have faith in it. I’m about 50% of the way through the back and I love how it’s going and how it looks and how it feels. I’m a huge fan of the color. The yarn is a lighter weight than the pattern recommends but that was intentional. I want to be able to wear this sweater over a blouse while teaching. I think it’s classy enough for that.

Now I’m off to make myself a cup of tea and get back to watching You’ve Got Mail, one of my all-time favorite movies.

One thought on “A “Leavely” Post

Leave a Reply

