Thankful

I’m currently in a chair at my parents’ house in the living room with my laptop, some knitting, and some homework. My throat hurts, so I should probably make some tea.

The cat is currently dabbling in one of my mother’s potted plants in the dining room. And since I’m the only one home, I should reprimand her. But I think it’s funny to watch her play with parsley, so I won’t.

Right now, I’m listening to “Thankful” by Josh Groban. It’s from his 2007 Christmas album, Noel, but I think it’s a Thanksgiving song. While it is a little hokey and cliche, it’s reminding me that I have so much for which to be thankful. For one thing, I’m here and able to get a few days of rest before the final push to end the semester. And I have some pretty great friends and family. I have a great God. I’m still in school.

But I also have a lot to be anxious about. I still haven’t taken my practice OPI…because the professor with whom I was supposed to meet went to Iowa for Thanksgiving. I just want this whole OPI business to be behind me. Please God, please.

And I don’t know where I’ll be student teaching yet. Apparently, our letters were mailed today, which means I’ll know by next Monday. I want to know, but at the same time, I’m not ready to leave my kids. Last night, I realized that with the exception of my eighth-graders who have class three times a week, I’ll only see each class three more times. Three. And then I leave. I’m not ready. And I will miss them. I’ll cry when I leave. But I know that, so I’m okay with it.

And the cat is no longer puttering in the parsley. I think she’s in the basil now.

Leave a Reply

