Face of Christ

Do you remember when I told you that winter would be back and the spring never comes to Michigan in February?

I was right. Winter came back with a vengeance yesterday. And then someone plowed snow around my care this morning so that I couldn’t get out of my parking spot.

I was already running late to get to class on time.  I tried to move snow with my hands and kick it with my feet. But I couldn’t get my car out. This was the second time that this has happened in this parking lot-in the month of February. I wanted to give up and cry. I didn’t want to go to class and I didn’t want to deal with people anymore.

Then the man who cleans the snow around St. James, the neighborhood Catholic church, came over. Armed with a snow-thrower and a shovel, he offered to help me. I said please. In less than ten minutes, he had my car free.

I thanked him and went to class. It took me half an hour on horrible roads and I got into the classroom four minutes after class was scheduled to start. The professor came in two minutes after me.

After class, I went to my friend’s house to help with run errands because she’s just getting over strep. I ended up skipping my second class of the day because of the condition of the roads-and the fact that I may be getting sick.

But none of this would have been possible without the man who rescued my car. He showed me the face of Christ this morning. And he made my day.

Leave a Reply

