How can you knit in this heat?

The title of this post is a conglomeration of a few questions I’ve been asked in the past few weeks. Michigan, like much of the country, has been “enjoying” a heat wave.

(In case you’re wondering, I work in a warehouse that is very close to the Willow Run Airport, which had the privilege of recording the highest temperature in the state on Thursday. We’re so proud.)

But regardless of the thermometer-busting temps, I’ve been knitting. And I’ve even been working on (gasp) a wool sweater. Apparently, this is astounding. I’ve heard a lot of “You’re knitting? But it’s so hot!” with a side order of “How can you knit in this heat? You must be dying.” Nah, but I’m sure someone else is dyeing in this heat.

And then there’s my personal favorite: “You’re knitting a sweater? In this heat? How can you do that?”

Well, you see, I pick up some lovely yarn and these-here pointy sticks and I cast on. Then I knit. And then I purl. It’s ALMOST like magic.

(Don’t worry; I’m not usually this snarky in real life.)

What I really say is this: People think you can only knit when the weather accommodates wearing the products of said knitting. This is false. If I only knit the thick, heavy sweaters I love during sweater season, I’d never get to wear them as often as I’d like.

I knit my Sedum sweater during the summer so I can wear it all fall and winter. I’m starting my Brennan during a July heatwave so I can enjoy it during the inevitable chill of November.

I’ve also been working on a scarf, which invites more season-related questions. Apparently, non-knitters think that scarves should only be knit in the winter.

However, this project is a gift for someone who has a summer birthday, but when I started to think about what to make her for her birthday, I realized that this beloved friend is about to experience her first Michigan winter. She needs some new winter apparel to protect her. And I wanted to make this classy, funky, spunky Bronte-loving beauty something that really screamed her name.

And the more I work on this project, the more I know that this is her. It calls her name, but I’m hoping she doesn’t hear its calls until I give it to her in late August.

Also, after I give the scarf to her, I’m planning on releasing the pattern for general consumption/enjoyment. And I have a feeling that she’s not the only person who will enjoy it either.

But regardless of that, I knit in the summer so the results can be enjoyed in the winter.

Plus, I have to keep my fidgety hands busy somehow…

Leave a Reply

