Pesto-Chicken Pizza with Feta

This is not a cooking blog. However, it is the blog of a lassie who likes to cook. And said lassie is lactose-intolerant. Being lactose-intolerant, I often find myself adapting existing recipes to my own diet or creating my own. On the rare occasions that I create my own, I like to share them with the world so that others like myself can use them.

That said, this recipe was born out of something I said to Katie a few weeks ago. “Picture this: Take a loaf of Italian bread, slice it in half. Put pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, and grilled chicken on top. Bake it. Then add feta cheese.” She replied that she’d be right over. (I haven’t seen her yet, but that’s okay; I haven’t made that dish yet.)

The other inspiration for this recipe is Cottage Inn’s Pesto Primavera Pizza. That’s my dad’s favorite pizza. It has pesto, feta, olives, broccoli, tomatoes, and mozzarella on it-although we generally ask Cottage Inn to leave the mozzarella off 2-4 slices just for me. Anyway, it’s fabulous and honestly, I’ll probably try to make my own some day.

But anyway, I’m the head cook around this house this week as the beloved Momsy is not home. So tonight, I made Pesto-Chicken Pizza with Feta.

Pesto-Chicken Pizza with Feta

Serves two

Ingredients:

  • Pizza dough: I recommend using homemade, however, I used one ball of store-bought dough from the freezer.
  • 1/4 cup pesto; I used homemade pesto made by Momsy
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 1 small chicken breast, chopped
  • ~1/4 cup fresh feta cheese (or to taste)
  • Olive oil, preferably Extra Virgin

Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Lightly coat one 9-inch pie pan with olive oil.

Spread dough throughout pan. This may take some time/energy.

Spread pesto thoroughly over dough.

Sprinkle tomato and chicken on pizza.

Put this in the oven for 17-20 minutes.

Remove from oven and add crumbled feta cheese to top.

Return pizza to oven for another two minutes.

Remove, cool, slice, and serve.

Buon appetito!

Next project: Trying this sans chicken; I feel like it would be amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

