Fried-day

It’s Friday. The week is finally over and it’s the weekend. This hasn’t been a bad week, but it’s been a long one. Nevertheless, it’s over. Tomorrow, I leave for a weekend in beautiful Stratford, Ontario with Momsy and Auntly. But first, here are some highs and lows from the past week.

  1. I saw Katie on Sunday. I got to spend more than six hours with one of my favorite people in the world. It was epically awesome.
  2. Sunday evening, the car formerly known as Gilbert Westley Blythe died about ten minuets from home. Three visits to the mechanic later, the car’s name is now Gertrude Wickham-Black. (Major points to anyone who can identify the literary allusions in Gert’s current or former name.)
  3. Tuesday and Wednesday, I got to see some of my favorite people alive-including two dear, darling little girls who make me a better knitter and a better person…and one of whom wants to know if I’m funny. The jury is still out, but the closest G got to an actual verdict was a “sometimes” from Momsy.
  4. I’m rediscovering my love of cables working on my Brennan cardigan. More on that later…
  5. Yesterday, I went to the Apple store at the mall looking to buy a MacBook. After talking with a helpful sales associate, I went home and checked out the refurbished MacBooks on the Apple website. And then, I sprang for a refurbished iPod touch. All of this will be arriving late next week. So am I joining the cult of Mac? Yes.
  6. Unsolicited book recommendation: About two weeks ago, Momsy had this book called Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos sitting around the house. She read it and was going to take it back to the library. The cover was really pretty, so I asked her if she liked it and she said she did. So I sat down and read it. Literally, I started it on a Friday evening and read until I went to bed. Then I got up the next morning, made French toast and coffee, and started reading again. I love it. I might buy it. Long story short? Read it.
  7. Thanks to the local library, I’m watching my way through the fifth season of Psych. Have I ever mentioned that I love that show?
  8. This week was a record-breaking week in the rebind department. This led to silliness, craziness, increased caffeine consumption, exhaustion, and “And today’s only Thursday!” as my response to my boss when he told me how many books we’d rebound thus far during the month of August.
  9. Thank God it’s Friday.
  10. Tomorrow I’m going to Canada.
  11. Now I’m going to watch a movie with the Momsy.
One thought on “Fried-day

Leave a Reply

