The Good, the Bad, and the BWAH?!?!

I’ve taught two and a half days this week, but somehow they’ve been a very bloggable two days. (And no, bloggable isn’t a word; I made it up so I could be like Shakespeare.)

Yesterday morning, we had standardized testing at LCHS. The afternoon was normal. So I only came in for the afternoon. This meant that I could knit and relax as I really needed.

The Good

But Monday afternoon, my CT and I had to rearrange the classroom for the next morning’s testing. Fifth hour, the first hour I taught yesterday, I left it in the testing rows, but sixth hour, I wanted it back in my typical horseshoe. I’m much more comfortable with the horseshoe. I think it’s much more conducive to teaching and learning-at least in my classroom.

The problem was that I didn’t have enough time to rearrange the room and do some teacherly things I wanted to do. And then, B came into the room. B is in my third hour, but he likes to stop in before sixth hour to see his friends in that class. I mentioned that I needed to rearrange the room and he said, “Hey, Ms. H, I could do that for you.”

I said, “Can you do it in five minutes so you won’t be late to your next class?”

He said yep. And then he did. Other kids came in and I suggested to them that they help B, but they said he had it; he could do it on his own. And he did. In less than five minutes, he rearranged my room for me. Awesome.

Then, this morning, I was giving my Visionary Lit kids a test on Brave New World. Before the test, I was taking their books back from them. When B came in third hour, I had an empty box and a pile of books sitting on the front table. He proceded to box up the books from my first-hour kids and his class for me.

B isn’t my only awesome kid, but he’s definitely stuck out the past couple of days.

The Bad

Today, I had to be a mature, responsible adult. Fifth hour, I was giving the BNW test for the last time when one of my students came up to me and asked if we could speaking privately because she was dealing with some personal problems that she felt were getting in the way of her testing experience. So I had to decide what the adult thing to do was and then procede in that course of action.

I think I made the right decision, but it was still a hard call to make. I remember being sixteen and it was an emotional time. Relationships at that age can be rough and I get that. But I also have to consider the fact that these kids are in school to be educated. How do you balance all of that?

The BWAH?!?!?!

The test I gave today included a question about the name of a city in the novel. One of my students replied that the city was named “Mexico” while others named it “Arizona” or “New Mexico.”

I was not aware of any cities in the southwestern United States with any of those names. But I’ll check the map…or propose the annexation of Mexico as a solution to the question of illegal immigration.

On the same test, one of my students told me that “John Lenin” had been the ruler/dictator of the U.S.S.R. If you google “John Lenin” it says “Are you stupid?” and automatically redirects you to “John Lennon.” Now, John Lennon did many things, but he never ruled any countries. But just imagine if he had…it’s easy if you try.

Leave a Reply

