FO: Catherine Moreland

The Austentatious Fiber Artists over on Ravelry have been having a Northanger Abbey Read-Along/Knit-and-Crochet-Along for the past several weeks. And for my part of this RAL/KAL, I’ve been working on a shawl design inspired by Catherine Moreland, the hero of the novel.

Today, I finished my first attempt at the shawl, blocked it, and took many pictures of it. And I thought I’d share them here so you can get a taste of the pattern. I’m planning on testing the pattern myself one more time to make sure that I’m confident in it. Then, I’m going to find some test knitters and then (probably around Christmastime) I’ll release it along with a Catherine Moreland-inspired scarf pattern that is currently percolating in my gray matter.

But for now, here’s Cate Round One.

I love the sun in these first two. The way the light hits the shawl with the latticework on the deck is perfect.

 

 

 

Although the shawl was designed for the purpose of keeping warm while wandering a chilly abbey, it’s also great for covering your shoulders on an Indian summer day.

 

This one is my favorite shot that I got. I just love the way the shawl hangs and then I got lucky with the lighting coming in from the front door.

 

And here it is with the book that inspired it all…

That’s the Cate for now. I’m planning on producing another one in red lace-weight in the near future, and hopefully I’ll have a pattern available for general purchase by Christmastime.

Leave a Reply

