Why the End of My College Career is like..

The Lord of the Rings.

That’s right, folks. I’ve decided that my 5.5 years of college can be roughly summed up in J.R.R. Tolkien’s literary masterpiece. And I’m going to use pictures and quotes from Peter Jackson’s phenomenal 2001-03 movies to support my case.

And why yes, I am procrastinating…thank you for asking.

But anyway…

While most people think of Thanksgiving break as a warm, fluffy, comfortable break…

…I saw it as the deep breath before the plunge…

And trust me; I feel just like Pippin when he said, “I don’t want to be in a battle. But waiting on the edge of one I can’t escape is even worse.”

However, it is worth noting that the picture I chose to illustrate that point is actually from the scene where Gandalf tells Pip “End? No, the journey doesn’t end here. Death is just another path… One that we all must take. The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back, and all turns to silver glass… And then you see it…White shores… and beyond, a far green country under a swift sunrise. ”

(That’s what I call December 6, a far green country under a swift sunrise.)

Like Frodo, who told Sam, “I’m glad to be with you, Samwise Gamgee, here at the end of all things” I’ve got some pretty awesome friends.

Also, I feel fairly certain that while life is pretty rough right now, Aragon is right, per usual.

I love that scene. I love it.

Also, I’m reasonably certain that I’m secretly a hobbit. I have curly hair, hairy feet, and a fondness for beer. I’m just not short and I don’t smoke. But those hobbits are pretty dang awesome. They’re loyal and (almost) fearless.

But if you’re wondering, I’m Merry. Totally.

But for now, I really need to get back to grading papers. Gandalf would grade papers.

And this is going to motivate me to grade. This day, we grade!

One thought on “Why the End of My College Career is like..

Leave a Reply

