An Apostrophe

Ladies and gents, I’ve had an apostrophe.

Okay, so I’m not going to corrupt Peter Pan’s children. But, I had an epiphany. Lightning struck my brain. And it didn’t hurt.

For the past several weeks, I’ve been working on Momsy’s Christmas present. The knitting was going at a glacial pace. (Seriously, molasses and turtles move faster than this project did.) It wasn’t the pattern, which I was kind of making up on the sport. It was the yarn. The yarn was constantly snagging on itself and tangling. I’d had to tear  the thing back to the starting ground probably three times. And while Christmas is still eleven days away, I just couldn’t see this thing being done by Christmas. Sure, Momsy told me a couple days ago that I could give her an IOU for Christmas, and she wouldn’t mind. But a) I mind and b) well, I’d be paying that IOU off sometime around 2028.

Then last night, I was having trouble sleeping, and somehow, my Great-Grandma Grace came to mind. Now, Great-Grandma Grace, Momsy’s maternal grandmother, died before I was born, but apparently she was a crafter. (I’m not sure on all the details of this because Great-Grandma Mary, Momsy’s paternal grandmother, was also a crafter and I’m not entirely sure on which one did what. But Momsy is named after both of them, which makes me love them even though I never met them because they both died before I was born.)

But Grandma Jo once told me that both of Momsy’s grandmothers would be proud of me because I knit and crochet. (Sidenote: Great-Grandma Mary was seriously freaking talented; you should see the bedspread she made my grandparents when they got married, but I digress.)

Anyway, I was thinking about the shawl I made over the weekend and about Grace. And then, I had an apostrophe…or an epiphany. Lightning struck my brain. I knew what to make Momsy for Christmas.

Now, you won’t get to see it until Christmas. (And by a totally bizarre turn of events, Momsy *might* get two knitted things for Christmas, but we’ll see how things go.)

But I’m soooo excited about this. I don’t have to sit around and detangle yarn anymore.

So, Great-Grandma Grace, thanks for the inspiration. I hope you are proud of me.

Leave a Reply

