The Last FO of 2011

Most people do not spend about six hours out of their New Year’s Eve sewing two skirts. Clearly, I am not most people since that’s exactly how I spent my New Year’s Eve. (P.S. After I publish this post, I’m going to either convince Momsy to watch a movie with me or I’ll read a book until we go watch the ball fall at midnight. And yes, I know I’m lame. I don’t care.)

Anyway, it all started yesterday when I went to JoAnn’s to buy a size 15 circular knitting needle and some yarn to make a friend’s impending niece a blanket. While I was there, I saw these two bolts of fabric sitting next to each other.

I’ve seen these two together before. And honestly, I’ve seen them with better pricing than I saw them yesterday. But that’s not the point. They were there. They were 30% off. I had a coupon for 15% off my total purchase, including sale items. And I was in desperate want of a cute new skirt or two.

So, I bought three yards of each one and brought them home, intending to use my tried-and-true wrap skirt pattern (McCall’s 5430) and my crafting genius to make a reversible skirt.

But then, Momsy pointed out that if I wanted two different skirts, I should just make two different skirts and call it good. So, I decided to go with it. But the skirts wouldn’t be made all from one fabric. For each skirt, one fabric would be the “body” and the other fabric would be the waistband and, for one of the skirts, the pockets.

Last night, I cut out the fabric, and this afternoon, I sat down and sewed until dinner time. After dinner, I went back at it again.

And here’s the end result. (Also, because I’m a dork, I named both of the skirts. Live with it.)

The first one is Lily. I’m not really sure why, but the name seems to have stuck. This skirt is view B from the pattern, which is the most basic way to make the skirt.

And here’s a close-up of the bow.

And then there’s a close-up of the fabric so you can see the gorgeous vine detail.

The second skirt is view C on the pattern. I named this one Poppy because it seems a little more vivacious and silly and fun. But you can judge that for yourself.

A close-up of the bow and a pocket…

So those are my last Finished Objects of 2011. And I’m pretty proud of myself for making two skirts in one day.

It’s been a good but hard year. I’m looking forward to 2012 and hoping that it’ll bring some pretty amazing things into my life…and yours, of course dear blog readers.

So good night and have an utterly fantastic 2012!

Leave a Reply

