DIY: Jane Austen Quote Mugs

Today, I made something. It was the perfect something to be made by the young woman who named her blog “A Large Cup of Tea and a Long Book.”

So what did I make? Two Jane Austen quote mugs, yeah, that’s right. TWO Jane Austen quote mugs. Like TWO mugs with Jane Austen quotes on them. How awesome is that?

Wanna see them?

So there they are. One is fresh from the oven and the other had been out for about half an hour.

I got the idea at Target a few days ago. They have in their Dollar Section these really cute mugs (like the one on the right above) for $2.50. And I have in my possession a couple of paint markers. (Two green, one blue, one purple; I’m not a huge fan of one of the the green or the purple, so I didn’t use them today.)

I decided that for Valentine’s Day, I could give Katie a mug that featured one of her favorite Jane Austen quotes: Is there any felicity in the world superior to this?

But I realized that the mug is big (like any tea mug ought to be) and I could get more than one quote on it. So I picked four awesome Austen quotes and wrote them on a lovely mug.

Then, I heated the oven to 200 degrees and put the mug in for thirty minutes to allow the paint to bake into the mug.

I think it’s lovely. And it was so easy.

All I had to do was:

  1. Buy the mug and markers.
  2. Pick the perfect four Jane Austen quotes for Katie.
  3. Write them VERY CAREFULLY on the mug.
  4. Bake it for 30 minutes at 200 degrees.

It’s so easy an idiot could do it. (I know; I did it.)

And then, I realized that I wanted my own Jane Austen mug. I had a tea cup and saucer that I had tried to decorate over the summer, but then I forgot to bake them. So I washed them and then decorated them.

I baked the cup and saucer (200 degrees, 30 minutes) and now, I have my own “Is there any felicity in the world superior to this?” cup and saucer. Awesome.

Seriously. I ask you. Is there any felicity in the world superior to this?

P.S. If you’re wondering what other quotes are on Katie’s mug, keep reading. If not, please comment before departing. And then go make your own mugs.

  • Second quote: One half of the world cannot understand the pleasures of the other. Emma
  • Third: How quick come the reasons for approving what we like! Persuasion
  • Fourth: Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of choice. Pride and Prejudice
And one final gratuitous mug shot…
3 thoughts on “DIY: Jane Austen Quote Mugs

  1. Pingback: Austentatious Christmas Gifts | A Large Cup of Tea and a Long Book

Leave a Reply

