Thursday Thoughts

I’ve managed to make it to another Thursday. I still have to make it through Friday, but I’m subbing in a second grade classroom, which probably won’t kill me and even if it does, I have to drive by a Starbucks to get home, so I can probably revive myself…in an manner that is appropriate to a Friday in Lent.

  1. But anyway, it’s Thursday, and I’m still here. And it’s March! I have survived another Leap Day…without proposing marriage to anyone.
  2. Also, in making it through Leap Day, I have made it to the first (hopefully annual) March Ado About Nothing. Yes, that’s right. We are now dedicating an entire month to my favorite Shakespeare play. Next, we’re going to start throwing Henry V parties on the Feast of St. Crispin and then we’ll have Twelfth Night parties every January 5. (Side note: Google informs us that the next Twelfth Night will be Sunday, January 5, 2013. Clear your calendars.)
  3. Just wait until I figure out how to have Hamlet parties…
  4. After I’m done writing this blog post, I’m going to watch the 1992 adaptation of Much Ado. You know, the one with Ken and Emma and Ken tries to convince us that somehow Denzel Washington and Keanu Reeves could be brothers. Something tells me that the charming Mr. Branagh never did very well in biology as a child.
  5. Today, I misspelled my own last name on the whiteboard. And it took me over an hour to realize it. I need to drink more coffee.
  6. Oooooh! We could have Macbeth parties and dance around boiling cauldrons!
  7. I’d like to report now that I’m a little over 5/7 of the way through Middlemarch. It’s like eating brussel sprouts while getting your teeth pulled. No, actually, it’s like eating brussel sprouts while pulling your own teeth.
  8. To be fair, I actually really enjoyed the brussel sprouts I had back in December. But no one was pulling anyone’s teeth during that meal.
  9. I’m about 1/10 of the way into Jesus of Nazareth. It goes down much better with coffee than it does without…and that’s because I’m more alert with coffee than without. But it is far more enjoyable than brussel sprouts. Or dentistry.
  10. I’m currently knitting a gorgeous shawl, a sweater, and a sweater-dress. In case you care.
  11. How would you throw a King Lear party? Please comment and tell me.
  12. And don’t forget to remember to get me birthday presents on December 16 for Jane Austen’s birthday.
  13. Or I won’t invite you to my totally awesome Henry VI (Part Two) Party where we will begin by killing all the lawyers.
2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts

  1. And I feel like a King Lear party would probably involve poking your eyes out, so I don’t know if I’m prepared to venture into that realm.

Leave a Reply

