This is how a knitter travels

Last night, I arrived home from a weeklong trip to Iowa. Naturally, as a knitter, I had to take a few projects/planned projects with me. This is the stashlette (def: mini-stash) that I took with me.

I took two skeins of KnitPicks Stroll yarn and one skein of Malabrigo sock in Impressionist Blue, which I didn’t use. I also took two partial skeins of Malabrigo sock in Ravelry Red.

I took the red yarn and a US size 5 circular needle with me on my flight to Omaha. I cast on a Storm Cloud Shawlette Wednesday before boarding the plan and finish the shawl around 8pm on Sunday. The shawl, which is currently blocking on my bedroom floor, is an Easter gift for someone who (I think) reads this blog occasionally, so she will have to wait until Easter to find out who she is. (And any mistakes I made in the knitting can be blamed on the two hours when I was working on it in a movie theater while watching The Hunger Games. BTW, the movie was fabulous.)

I also took about half of a skein of Malabrigo sock in Abril with me. Using a US size 6 needle, this became an Afternoon Tea shawl. (This is for me.) Now, I have to say this. This pattern is wonderful. It’s well-written and very easy to follow. I did modify it a bit, but I’ll explain that a little more when I get some modeled pics of the shawl and write a finished object post for it.

That’s the Afternoon Tea shawl blocking on my floor last night after I got home. I showed it to Momsy this morning and she declared it lovely. She also told me that she wants to learn how to make something like that. You may call me a knitting evangelist if you like.

My final traveling knitting project was my on-going Magrathea shawl. I started this about three weeks ago, and it’s going steadily. I love it and I’m looking forward to having this shawl finished…in a few weeks, I should think.

One of the interesting things about this shawl is that I’m using Malabrigo sock in Abril for it. This is the same yarn that I used for Helen’s storm cloud (see a post from a few weeks back) and for my Afternoon tea shawl. But I bought the two skeins of yarn a week apart, and according to Malabrigo’s website, Abril is a colorway that has a tendency to vary in colors not only between dye-lots but even in the same dye-lot. The two skeins I bought are different dye-lots, but the variance between them is incredible.

Magrathea is on the left, Afternoon Tea on the right. The picture isn’t the greatest, and I’ll have to try to remember to get a better picture of this when both shawls are done. But Mag is much lighter than Afternoon Tea. Jenn recognized a picture of a shawl on Rav as being the same color as the tea shawl, but she didn’t recognize Mag and A.T. as being the same color.

Anyway, I decided to be a bit daring and make Mag my traveling project for my trip home. I put the pattern PDF on my kindle and put the kindle and the shawl in my purse.

Then, I went to the Omaha airport and continued knitting while I waited to board my plane.

Then, I boarded the plane and kept knitting until we really started our descent into Detroit. It’s really hard to follow a lace chart (or just generally knit lace) while a plane is landing.

And now, Mag and I are home. I’m a little over halfway through the body chart. And then I have to work the edging. My goal is to have it done by the end of the month after which the color is named…Abril.

Hopefully, I’ll have some good finished object pics of my two finished shawls to share in the next few days.

Leave a Reply

