A Knitting Update

In today’s post, I’m going to show off two finished objects and one work-in-progress.

We’ll start with my Afternoon Tea shawl that I finished about two weeks ago. The first picture is me wearing it Friday night after church. The second I took in the backyard this afternoon.

The second finished object is my Magrathea shawl. Magrathea is a planet mentioned in Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. 

The shawl pattern is written entirely in charts, which was a new experience for me, but it was a good one. And the finished object is gorgeous. This afternoon, I went out for coffee with Becky and made use of her wonderful photography skills (and my awesome camera) to get a couple of modeled shots of the shawl.

And yes, I was drinking coffee while she took my picture. I was enjoying an Irish cream latte from Biggby. Let me tell you; I do love their Irish cream lattes.

When I got home, I took a picture of Magrathea and Afternoon Tea next to each other. I mentioned a few weeks ago that the two shawls are made from the same yarn (Malabrigo sock, yum!) and the same colorway (Abril) but being from different dye-lots, they are very different shades of the same colors.

I love both shawls, but the variance between them is astonishing.

And now for that WIP…I’m working on this project as a test knit, so I can’t release any details to you, but I can show you a few sneak-peaks of something gorgeous.

I’m not sure why but this reminds me of peacock feathers. And I’m very excited about it.

Leave a Reply

