FO: Ava

I finished a dress today. And I named it Ava. If you pay much attention to my posts about my sewing projects, you’ll notice that I name things. So what was View A from Simplicity pattern 2246 is now Ava.

I started my photo shoot with this dress in the backyard and later moved to the front yard for a different setting and light.

I really wish that I could tell you that what kind of fabric I made Ava out of, but I can’t. I know that it is a machine washable fabric, and it’s a very comfortable fabric at that. I can also tell you that it is an absolutely lovely shirtwaist dress and I adore it.

I bought the pattern and fabric for Ava back in August, but I only actually really started working on the dress last weekend.

The project works up pretty quickly. It’s a quick and fun job. The only reason that it took me a week to finish it was that it took me until today to ask Mom for buttonhole making lessons. And once she showed me how to do it, it was all smooth sailing.

The belt, which I poached off a flannel shirt I bought at Vanity a year or so ago, does wonders for the dress. On its own, the dress is shapeless, but the belt gives it shape and a little pizzazz.

I probably bring a little pizzazz of my own, come to think of it.

And I’m expecting to get quite  a bit of wear out of this dress-both as a church dress and as a work dress. I have a feeling it will look fabulous over a pair of leggings or tights.

I can’t wait to see all the wardrobe possibilities this dress brings.

Leave a Reply

