Summer Knitting

My current knitting projects include two sweaters. One of these sweaters is made from worsted weight wool, the other is fingering weight.

Today, it is approximately 100 degrees Fahrenheit. When I walked out of work and climbed into my car, dear Gilbert informed me that it was 104 degrees out in the blazing hot sun. By the time we got home, he was willing to calm down and admit that maybe, just maybe, it was only 100.

Anyway, the point is that it is summer in Michigan. It’s hot. It’s humid. And I’m knitting a worsted weight sweater.

Now, you may want to ask me (and if you’re my coworker, DC, you already have) why the heck I am knitting a very wintery sweater in the heat of summer.

Well, I’ll tell you what I told D. Yes, it is hot now. But it takes me a while to knit a sweater and if I worked on these sweaters during sweater weather, I wouldn’t get nearly as much use/enjoyment out of them. So I knit during the summer.

With that said, I’d far rather work on the fingering weight sweater (or another secret fingering weight project I have on-needle at the moment) in this heat. But the worsted-weight sweater is a project with a deadline and I have to get it done in time. So I will sit in 100-degree heat and knit with worsted weight.

Blergh, as Liz Lemon would say. Blergh.

What are your summer knitting plans?

Leave a Reply

