(In)Sanity?

I’m currently a first-year teacher who is questioning her sanity. And no, it’s not because I’m giving a test the day before Christmas break.

I finally finished my Kerrera sweater Saturday. But instead of going ahead and making the Royale that I’d be planning on starting, I decided (in a fit of sheer madness) to start a Vaila instead with the intent of finishing it in time to wear it on Christmas day…and then I’ll start the Royale after the Vaila is done.

So why is this the result of madness? Because I also need to make two pairs of mittens, three little girl sweaters, two shawls, a scarf, and a headband by the end of December.

If you’re counting, that’s ten projects by December 30. I have all the yarn. I have all the needles and all the patterns. I even have a spreadsheet telling me what I’m making, who it’s for, when I started it, and when I need to have it done. I also have a schedule for when I knit what. I work on Vaila every day. Trillian is for Sundays and Wednesdays. Owlet gets Mondays, Fridays, and any time I’m in desperate need of purse knitting. Martinmas gets Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. And as those go off needle, the schedule will fluctuate to accomodate new projects and projects that need to be rushed.

And in the middle of all of this, I need to do my real job. Teaching, planning, grading…and knitting ten projects. Work needs to be my first priority, and knitting needs to come second.

But because of my struggle with insanity, I need to make sure that I also have enough time to meet all of my knitting goals. Somehow, I believe that I can knit three children’s sweaters, one adult sweater, two pairs of mittens, one scarf, one headband, and two shawls on time. I really do believe I can do it. And don’t even try to tell me otherwise.

And that, my friends, is insanity.

Leave a Reply

