Dear Void

Dear Blog,

I like to call you void because you have been void of all thought since Good Friday. And I feel as though I have been neglecting you, which is rather unkind of me. I really should have updated you at least once in the past few weeks. I mean, I had a ridiculously long spring break and I didn’t update you after Good Friday. I wonder what that says about me. I feel as though I’m a neglectful blogger. I’m an irresponsible blogger. I shouldn’t be left alone with my blog. I might forget all about it and leave it to rot in a corner.

But I digress. (On a random note, I would love to know how many times I’ve said “But I digress” over the course of the three years this blog and I have been together. Maybe “But I digress” would be a better name for my blog than “A Large Cup of Tea and a Long Book.”) And I digressed again.

Anyway, back to the original intent of this post. What is happening in my life? Well, it’s the fourth quarter of my first year of teaching. We’re in the home stretch. I think the kids and I have a different interpretation of what that means, but hopefully the same bullheadedness that led to me jumping an 18-inch snowdrift in reverse two years ago will get us through to where I want to be come June 8. Prayers would be greatly appreciate for us to reach that goal.

I’m still knitting. I have no flashy finished objects to show off at the moment, but hopefully I will by mid-May. Additionally, I’m doodling around with the idea of a new collection that relates somewhat to my pattern Grace that I released last summer. But that is all in early stages at the moment, and I don’t have much to report on that front yet.

I’m still drinking tea. Never fear. I will never stop drinking tea unless there is some medical reason for me to stop drinking tea.

Reading? What is reading? I hear that people sometimes read books. I tell my students to read books. A few weeks ago, I finished my second reading of Elizabeth Kostova’s The Swan Thieves. I wish I could tell you what this book means to me, but I can’t put it into words. This book motivates me as a reader and as a writer. It pushes me as an artist and as a human being. Please do yourself a favor and read it. If you don’t love it, I’ll give you your money back. Or I’ll buy your copy of the book from you. I’m also making my way through my beloved Emma again. I find something new and inspiring in that book every time I read it.

And rumor has it that there is a book waiting for me on the reserve shelves at my local public library until next Saturday. I’ll have to bop in there and pick it up soon. Maybe I’ll even find time to read it at some point in the near future in between everything else I do these days.

Beyond work, church, and family, I feel as though I have a very small, very limited life. I don’t think that my friends intend for it to be this way. I know that I don’t intend for it to be this way. But my life has changed in the past year or so, and I have found myself surrendering things that I never thought that I would surrender. Oddly, it isn’t a bad thing. I would like to have more of a social life. I’d like to have more adult conversations. I really would. But in pouring myself into my job, I have learned a great deal about myself and about the world in which we live. But that’s another blog post that will be coming in mid-June.

I ask for your prayers and your support in the next two months as I make my way through this quarter. Please keep both my students and myself in your prayers. We need it. I also selfishly ask for your encouragement. Sometimes I’m grumbly and complaining and whiny and I feel like I’m about five. And I hate that. I need some encouragement to push me through those days.

And so, dear blog-void, that is my life these days. It’s utterly boring, and I’m not sure why anyone other than me would care about it. But it’s out there in the void now so that others can at least know what I’m doing when I’m not here.

Good night, dear void. Until we meet again, Let us say not farewell, but as the French have it: Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

