The Mary Shawl

About two years ago, a book appeared in my house. My mom had bought this book, which in and of itself was remarkable because my mother only buys books she truly loves. Mom told me that I had to read the book, so I did. The book sounded interesting, and I figured that I had nothing better to do.

And then, I fell in love with the book. I’m currently on my third reading of Elizabeth Kostova’s The Swan Thieves: A Novel. But on my second reading, I realized that I was finding what I like to call “knitspiration” in the book. As I read, I found the inspiration for five new accessory patterns in the book. Each of the patterns will be launched individually.

IMG_1509 IMG_1511 IMG_1512 IMG_1514 IMG_1516 IMG_1517 IMG_1518 IMG_1519

I’m starting with the first pattern, Mary, today. The character of Mary Bertison from Elizabeth Kostova’s novel, The Swan Thieves, inspired this lightweight shawl. Mary is an asymmetrical shawl worked side-to-side with alternating garter panels and lace panels. It is designed to reflect the cautious grace and almost-rebellious devotion that is integral to Mary Bertison’s spirit.

For more information, please see my Ravelry project pages (here and here)or the Ravelry pattern page.

Leave a Reply

