Why I Don’t Mind Being Single

First of all, let me say that I do want to get married and have a family. It is something that I desire and something that I believe that God is calling me to.

However, I believe that there is a purpose to this single season in my life. While I would love to be married and have a family, that isn’t where my life is right now. And by and large, I am fine with that. Why is that?

First of all, I am so much more than my relationship status. I am a heck of a lot of things and most of them don’t depend upon whether or not some dude has asked me out. I have managed to grow in various area of my life over the past few years specifically because I’m single. I’ve been able to use this time in my life to grow and to become more of the person that I am.

Secondarily, I believe that God has a plan for my life. I believe that he has put me where I am for a reason. I may not always understand that, but I try to accept that. I have accepted the fact that it is God’s will for me to be single in this season of my life. I don’t know how long he intends for this season to last, but while I’m here, I might as well make good use of this time.

Thirdly, I realize that I’m doing something with my life right now. I don’t need to wait until some guy puts a ring on my finger to have a purpose in my life. I don’t need to be a wife or a mother to have a purpose. I have a purpose to my life these days-and it’s a pretty awesome purpose.

As I have said before, I have my dream job. At the age of twenty-four, I got my first full-time teaching job. As a teacher, I have the opportunity to work with young people and to hopefully help shape them in a positive ways. I can introduce them to literature, to culture, and to ideas that they may have never considered before. I get to talk to them, to work with them, and to pray for them. To be honest, I think that I am able to be more available to them because I am single. I have more time and energy for my job because I’m unattached.

Now, my students not my children-although we’ve talked before about how I have been known to call my students my kiddos. But these children have become a part of my life. They have shaped me in little ways. Some of them have allowed me to see a window into their lives. Some of them have adopted me as a sort of older sister. I get to be involved in shaping their lives. There is nothing that I love more than those random moments when I get to give them my (usually solicited) opinion on important issues that may not be directly related what we’re covering in class. At the very least, I get to stick a new idea in their brains, give them something to chew over. I like that. I like making them think.

All in all, I’m happy with my life. I have a great job with great coworkers, wonderful friends, an amazing God, and an amazing yarn collection. I’m happy. I have all of the things that I need to survive and the ability to obtain most things that I want. To me, that’s a good life. It’s a happy life.

I don’t need a husband to make me feel validated. I don’t need to have rings on my finger to make me happy-although they might make the boys I teach stop trying to flirt with me. But I don’t need a husband. I have a life that fulfills me. And I believe that God has a plan for me. I firmly believe that I am single at this point in my life because it is His will.

Even in this life, I am trying to prepare for marriage. I pray for the man that I may someday marry. I ask God to bless him and to help him to become a strong, holy man of God. I pray that God will help me to become a strong, holy woman of God. I spend time with my friends and family because I know that I need a well-rounded life.

But for now, I’m single. And I am pretty darn content with that life. After all, I’m spending my Friday night grading homework, and I’m not sure how a boyfriend/husband would like that too much.

Leave a Reply

