A Teacher’s Opinion of Snow Days

Dear Friends, Romans, Facebook friends, Reporters, Countrymen, and Everyone else,
I am well aware that if my school has a snow day tomorrow we will have met the annual limit for the state of Michigan. My students are also well aware of this. They know and I know that if we have more than six snow days this year, then we will either have to add minutes on to other days during the school year or add days on to the school year in June. I know this. The kiddos know this. We don’t want to do this. Please stop rubbing this in our faces.

Here’s the thing. I’m glad that you’re big and strong and when you were a kid you walked uphill both ways even when it was -90 degrees Celsius to get to school. But seriously, go outside. Feel that wind. Look at those roads. Do you really want my eighteen year old students driving on those roads? Do you really want my fourteen year old students standing at bus stops waiting for buses in that wind? See, I don’t want that. I don’t want to go later into June or have extended days. But I also want my kiddos to be safe.

So stop calling us wimps. We’re not thrilled with this and we really won’t be thrilled with it later in the year. I’m not entirely sure that my freshmen are going to finish Romeo and Juliet before April at this rate, and my brilliant third quarter plan for my seniors is in desperate need of revision at this point. But right now, we’re just trying to survive another freaking “arctic storm.” I’ll get the lesson plans sorted out. And hopefully, we will all stay safe and healthy.

(Also, I might miss my kiddos now. But their safety is the most important thing.)

Leave a Reply

