Mother’s Day

This afternoon, my dear brother (who we will call Crackers for kicks and giggles in this post) called me to ask me what to get the World’s Greatest Mother (Hi, Momsy!) for Mother’s Day. Incidentally, I had just texted the World’s Greatest Mother (WGM) on Thursday or Friday to ask her that same question. WGM told me what she wanted and then suggested that I speak with the Paterfamilias about the subject. I haven’t spoken to the Paterfamilias about this yet, but regardless, I’m planning on getting her what she asked for (because, you know, she asked for it and I believe in giving people what they ask for) and this card because I’m kind of a jerk on my days off.

But I really do appreciate both the fact that WGM gave birth to me and the fact that she raised me. I mean, she put up with me when I was 13, and I don’t know about you but I was a major pain when I was 13 and if I’m being honest, my parents should probably get an all-expenses-paid month-long vacation in the Bahamas (or something like that) for putting up with me at the age of 13.

Regardless, Crackers didn’t want to get WGM what she told me that she wanted. See, she wants a gift card, and he wants something that he can buy off Amazon and have shipped to her. And I understand that. It’s nice to have a THING to give someone, and it’s easier to buy something from Amazon instead of sending your sister money so she can buy a gift card. But I also know that WGM knows that Crackers and I love her. She doesn’t need any THING to tell her that. I’m pretty sure that a card with a nice note will suffice. But since we want to give her something, she wants a gift card. And if that’s what she wants, that’s what she gets.

For me, Mother’s Day is about honoring your mother for all that she has done for you. And the best way to honor someone is to thank them for what they’ve done for you and to recognize them what they’ve done. Aside from using your words, the best way to do that is to give them what they want (within reason, of course), not to give them what you want them to want. If WGM wants a gift card, then a gift card shall she get…and a card thanking her for everything she does for us.

But if he really wants to get her something, maybe Crackers should get her this.

P.S. Momsy, thanks for putting up with me. I don’t say that enough, but you really are the World’s Greatest Mom.

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. Hi! I just stumbled across this from looking at the stats for my Etsy shop and realized you mentioned my print in this article. Very nice indeed. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 I wrote an article like this about my mom, too! Loved your article. Well put.

Leave a Reply

