FO: White Turtleneck Sweater

So here’s how this post works. Back around the time of the Super Bowl, I bought six skeins of white yarn. (TFA Green Label in Natural) I was going to make two baby blankets out of it. Somewhere along the line between the Super Bowl and the Stanley Cup playoffs, I decided that I wasn’t going to use the white yarn for the baby blankets. Suddenly, I had a sweater quantity of white yarn and no plan for it.

But here’s the thing. Ever since I saw The Holiday back in 2007, I’ve wanted a white turtleneck sweater. So, I took the skeins of yarn and made them into balls, and then I cast on for a sweater. I worked on it for about a week, and then I realized that I didn’t want that sweater, so I ripped it.

On Thursday, November 6, 2014, I sat down with my US size 9 needles and I started knitting. Yesterday afternoon (on Wednesday, November 26, 2014), I cast off. I blocked the sweater. And then I wore it to Thanksgiving dinner this afternoon. My awesome mother took pictures of it for me after dinner, and I love it. (Of course, now I have to wash it because my dad spilled cold coffee on me on the way home.)

IMG_0509 IMG_0510 IMG_0511 IMG_0512 IMG_0487 IMG_0476I love this sweater, and it’s going to be a great neutral staple in my wardrobe. If you’re wondering, this used about 4.5 skeins of yarn or about 925 yards of yarn. It was pretty simple. It’s just reverse stockinette with a few cables and ribbed hems to add interest. And I love it.

Raveled here.

Leave a Reply

