Perspective

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.”

-G.K. Chesterton

I’ve talked before about how the past year and a half of my life has been an (at times unwelcome) adventure. It hasn’t always gone the way that I wanted it to, but that’s also not necessarily a bad thing.

However, when things don’t go my way or I’m disappointed/unhappy with things, I have a tendency to get upset. There may at times be slight temper tantrums. I may become sad. I have a very intense personality, and I feel things (both positive and negative) strongly. At these times, I need to be put back into perspective.

This past week, I received some news that was actually good news. It was unexpected, but it was good news. However, because it didn’t line up with my expectations, I had a bit of a meltdown. I was facing cognitive dissonance, and I felt it strongly. I didn’t react well.

However, I (in an act of self-preservation) sought out a coworker who has a much less intense personality than my own and can look at the world through a more level-headed lens. I explained the situation, and it quickly became apparent to both of us (him more than me) that what had happened was actually a good thing. It wasn’t what I had expected or planned, but it was (and still is) a good thing. And this man began using that word “adventure.”

His use of that word helped me eventually come to see the beauty of what had happened, but it also helped me to realize that I far too often look at things as inconvenient or difficult because they aren’t what I wanted or planned. If things don’t go my way, I look at them as difficult or problematic. But as my beloved Chesterton says, these things are adventures if they are looked at properly. It’s all a matter of perspective.

I need to daily choose to look at the world through a positive lens. I need to daily choose joy and to see the world in a joyful manner. I need to remember that God loves me and wants to give me good things. God actively desires nothing but good for his children. As Christ himself says, “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him!” (Matthew 7:11) But I have to change my perspective. I have to choose to see the good. I have to choose to see the adventures and not the inconveniences. I need to make that choice on a daily basis to look for how God is working in my life and not automatically assume that whatever goes against my plans must be bad.

I need to change my perspective. And that will be a choice that I’ll have to make. It will indubitably be a challenge for me at first, and I’ll definitely need reminders to look for the good in every situation. I’ll need to pray about this, and I’ll need prayers from others. But I think that it is a necessary change in my life and in my perspective.

Leave a Reply

