Book Review: One More Thing

A few weeks ago, I finished reading B.J. Novak‘s book One More Thing. I’ve liked B.J. since his days on The Office where he was both a writer and an actor. I also really like his children’s book, The Book with No Pictures.

While my high school self would probably want to punch my adult self in the face for this, I’ve really come to love short stories. I “blame” my college professors for this because they exposed me to geniuses like Flannery O’Connor and Mark Twain. In fact, I find B.J. Novak’s style to be reminiscent of Mark Twain’s voice.

Throughout the book, Novak’s voice was warm and compelling. Some stories were a few pages, others a few sentences. The narration is witty and entertaining. I don’t love every topic that he covers, but for the most part, I was entertained by his stories. There were a few stories that didn’t really line up with my moral comfort zone.

Overall, it’s a good book. Novak revisits the age-old tale of the tortoise and the hare in a hilarious way. He tells us what REALLY happened to Elvis. He gives us funny and realistic tales of potential romances and failed romances. He mocks accepted facts such as the formulaic nature of a John Grisham novel. Novak isn’t producing the greatest literature of the twenty-first century, but he is producing something that is both entertaining and intelligent. He isn’t afraid to mock social conventions. He isn’t afraid to be original. Now, he’s not avant-garde, but he has a voice that is his quite respectably his own.

If you’re not afraid of a little dirty humor, I recommend the book. (I also really recommend his children’s book, The Book with no Pictures.) And if he writes another book of short stories or a novel, I’ll definitely read it.

P.S. His Instagram account is definitely worth a follow if you use that platform.

Leave a Reply

