Love.

I was unhappy when I awoke this morning. I probably would have been unhappy with either presidential candidate’s election, but the fact remains that I was unhappy. I went on Facebook prepared to post the following status: “Anybody know any good Byzantine Catholic men in Canada who’d like to marry a nice but stubborn American Byzantine Catholic lady? I like Canada.”

Then I looked at my “On This Day” feed. Apparently, on this day six years ago, I had posted one of my favorite quotes from St. John of the Cross. “In the evening of our lives, we will be judged on our love.”

I felt convicted by my twenty-two year old self. I’ll be judged on my love. I will be judged on how well I love others. In fact, realistically speaking, I’m always being judged by others (and by God) on how I treat other people. I need to treat others with love, with respect, and with kindness in all that I do. If I agree with them or disagree with them, I need to respect them. I need to love them.

There’s too much anger, too much fear in our world today. My nation is very divided, and that concerns me. But I insist on believing that people are worth loving. I may not always like them or understand them. But people are still inherently good even if they’re not always well-behaved. They deserve to be loved and to be respected. I don’t have to like everyone or agree with everyone. But I do need to love them.

Ultimately, my life isn’t judged by how other people treat me. God won’t say to me “Well, it’s okay that you were mean to those people because they were mean to your first.” He’s going to remind me that he called me to love others as he loved me, to treat others the way that I want to be treated. That’s true for all of us. We need to love always because ultimately that’s where the true measure of our lives is found.

Let’s live well. Let’s be respectful of others. Let’s love one another and show ourselves to be the best possible version of ourselves.

But if you know any good Byzantine Catholic men in Canada who are in search of a nice Byzantine Catholic woman, send them my way. You can tell them that I like Canada, but please just warn them that I’m really stubborn.

Leave a Reply

