We Need Lent

In my spare time, I enjoy listening to the videos on the St. Elias Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church’s YouTube Channel. I find the music to beautiful and prayerful in a way that enriches my life. In particular, I enjoy listening to the videos from Holy Week and Pascha. I’ve been finding myself getting really excited as I realize that this coming Sunday is Cheesefare Sunday. Now, as a Lent-hating child, I hated Cheesefare Sunday. It (like the liturgical season it precedes) ruined all my fun.

As an adult with a better appreciation of Lent, I adore Cheesefare Sunday. My favorite thing about Cheesefare Sunday is Forgiveness Vespers. During Forgiveness Vespers, we as a parish forgive one another. “Forgive me, a sinner, and I forgive you,” we say to one another. It is, to me, utterly beautiful. During this Ritual of Forgiveness, we sing the Odes of the Resurrection, music that we will hear again during Resurrection Matins (my absolute favorite service of the year) on Pascha Sunday and throughout the Paschal season. Now, I love love LOVE these odes. I’m so excited to get to sing these beautiful odes, these beautiful truths on Sunday.

But not only do I love Pascha, I love Holy Thursday and Good Friday. I cannot explain to you how much I love Good Friday’s Reading of the Twelve Gospels and Entombment Vespers. They are so beautiful to me. I canNOT wait to sing “Having suffered the Passion for us, Jesus Christ Son of God, have mercy on us” throughout Lent. And then, we’ll get to sing of the Noble Joseph (of Arimathea) who took down the Spotless Body of the Master from the Cross and laid Him in a new tomb on Good Friday. Love. I love singing of the Noble Joseph because I love the Noble Joseph.

I love this celebration. It is utterly beautiful. Over the course of several days, we journey with Christ from Bethany where He raises His friend, Lazarus, from the dead to His triumphal entry into Jerusalem through Holy Week to Holy Thursday and the Institution of the Eucharist and the Priesthood to the Agony in the Garden into Friday and the Carrying of the Cross and His Passion and Death and then comes Pascha-His Glorious Resurrection on the Third Day. Christ is victorious through it all. He is the Victor. I love it.

You, O King and Lord, have fallen asleep in the flesh as a mortal man but on the third day you arose. You have raised Adam from his corruption and made death powerless. You are the Pasch of incorruption. You are the salvation of the world.

I recently confessed my love of Holy Week to my roommate. I told her that I wanted it to be Holy Week now because I want that beauty. I want that glory in my life. But her response was perfect. She told me that I couldn’t have them yet because Holy Week wouldn’t be the same without Lent. If I don’t go through forty days of prayer, almsgiving, and fasting, the majesty of Holy Week is NOT the same. Lent leads us to Holy Week. We need to work our way through Lent to the glory and majesty of the Sacred and Holy Pasch. We need to prepare our hearts and minds to rightly celebrate the Great Feast.

From the Monastery of Christ the Bridegroom

From the Monastery of Christ the Bridegroom

I love Holy Week. I love Pascha. But I need to spend some time preparing for those celebrations. I need to take time (forty days sounds good) to focus my mind on the message of Holy Week and Pascha so that I can properly celebrate the feasts. I need my heart and mind to be focused on the love and mercy of Christ’s Victorious Passion. Prayer can do that. Fasting can do that. Almsgiving can do that. I need to focus my heart and my mind. I need to work on my relationship with God. And then, I can celebrate the Feast well.

And if you’re wondering, I do need to do this every year. Every year, I can grow more. Every year, I can find areas for improvement in my relationship with God and in my understanding of His love and mercy. I will never be perfect on this side of paradise. But the beauty of God is that He is always there for me to draw closer to and to know more fully. We all need this. We all need the opportunity to meet God in the wilderness and to prepare ourselves for the Resurrection.

Leave a Reply

