March Ado About Nothing

It’s that time of year again…where I invent new holidays and festivals. It’s March, kids. That means that we’re going to start an entire month devoted to celebrating my favorite Shakespeare play, Much Ado About Nothing.

From Encyclopedia Brittanica.

From Encyclopedia Brittanica.

So, how does one devote 31 days to one play? Well, read on…

  1. Greet your friends warmly with “Sigh no more!”
  2. Respond to everyone with “I cannot endure my lady tongue.”
  3. It’s Friday. Tell everyone “God help the noble Benedick.”
  4. It’s Saturday. Greet everyone with “hey, nonnny, nonny.” And then tell them to March forth.
  5. Ask people what they are to a lord.
  6. Tell everyone that you were born to speak all mirth and no matter.
  7. Greet everyone with “Never came trouble to my house in the likeness of Your Grace.”
  8. Ask randomly “Shall I never see a bachelor of three-score again?”
  9. Feeling grumpy today? Repeatedly tell people “You are an ass! You are an ASS!”
  10. Ask people “For which of my bad parts didst thou first fall in love with me?”
  11. Encouragingly tell people “Man is a giddy thing.”
  12. Daylight Savings Time is back. Tell people “Is it possible disdain should die while she hath such meet food to feed it as Signior Benedick? Courtesy itself must convert to disdain, if you come in her presence.”
  13. Cryptically greet others with “You always end with a jade’s trick: I know you of old.”
  14. Tell people that you must eat when you have stomach. Then eat pie for Pi Day.
  15. Beg everyone to kill Claudio-or Julius Caesar. Someone’s got to do it.
  16. Greet others with “I had rather hear my dog bark at a crow than a man swear he loves me.”
  17. Randomly tell people “I will live in thy heart, die in thy lap and be buried in thy eyes, and moreover I will go with thee to thy uncle’s.”
  18. It’s Saturday. Enjoy the Kenneth Branagh MAAN film.
  19. Tell others that a star danced and under that were you born.
  20. Cryptically respond to others “There’s a double meaning in that” to others.
  21. Randomly tell others “He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man. And he that is more than a youth is not for me, and he that is less than a man – I am not for him.”
  22. Tell people that Silence is the perfectest herald of joy.
  23. Listen to “Sigh No More” by Mumford and Sons. It was inspired by MAAN.
  24. Gallop around with coconuts. Act like Michael Keaton while doing so.
  25. It’s Saturday. Enjoy the Joss Whedon MAAN film.
  26. Tell others “Some Cupid kills with arrows; some with traps.”
  27. Remind others that “Friendship is constant in all other things save in the office and affairs of love.”
  28. Remark “I love in this world so well as you.”
  29. Tell your friends that their significant others are “too low for a high praise, too
    brown for a fair praise, and too little for a great praise. Only this commendation I can afford her, that were she other than she is, she were unhandsome, and being no other but as she is, I do not like her.”
  30. Tell someone that you love them with so much of your heart that none is left to protest.
  31. Greet others with “Prince, methinks thou art sad. Get thee a wife! Get. Thee. A. Wife!”

2 thoughts on “March Ado About Nothing

  1. re: Friday: God help the noble (fill in the blank here with whoever needs help)? Or specifically those who have caught the Benedick?

  2. I am so going to do these – in fact I will see if I can get my year 8s – to whom I am teaching this – also my favourite of Shakespeare plays – to do the same! You may have started something here and I will tell them all to blame you 🙂

Leave a Reply

