Five Children’s Books that Shaped Me

(Screen cap from You’ve Got Mail, found on Tumblr)

I’m a teacher, and occasionally I like to share my favorite children’s books with my students. I was thinking about a few of my favorite picture books and what they mean to me, and I thought that I’d like to share these with my blog readers. Each of these books is a book that is very special to me and has become a part of who I am. (NB: I am planning a future post about chapter books. For the moment, I want to focus on picture books.)

  1. The Velveteen Rabbit: I liked this book as a child. As an adult, I love it. This story focuses on love and what it means to become Real. It is one of the most beautiful stories that I know of because it talks about the beauty that can come from hardships. It doesn’t sugarcoat life, and I appreciate that.
  2. Madeline: This book is filled with sentimental connections for me. One of my cats is actually named after this book. I love Madeline’s strong will and adventurous spirit. She is a little mischievous, but I think that’s a good thing. I find Madeline to be a good role model for little girls.
  3. A Chair for My Mother: As a child, I loved this book. I loved the character’s desire to get her mother a new chair. I loved the portrayal of love in this book. And I really, really wanted that chair; I thought it was soooo pretty when I was a kid.
  4. Stone Soup: This book focuses on finding and bringing out the good in others. I loved the story as a child because I thought it was fun. It’s also¬†interesting to see how the characters change over the course of the story.
  5. The Mitten: I vividly remember reading this book over and over again as a child. Yes, it has a message about perhaps knowing your limits or something like that. However, mostly, I always find it be an amusing story.

These are just five of my favorite children’s books, and there are dozens more that I love. What children’s books do you love?

Leave a Reply

